Morning in Hyde Park

No doubt about it, I’m a morning person – always have been, always will be. Although I admire the idea of sleeping in, and sometimes express envy at those who seem to do it regularly and easily, the truth of it is that I don’t feel I’m missing out by not indulging in more sleep. Instead, on the rare occasions when I have risen after the sunrise, the overall feeling is a combined sense of loss and disappointment at having missed out.

Hyde Park reflections (3)

I don’t actually need to see the sun rise, but I like to watch the darkness turn to light, and listen as the silence becomes filled in by the sounds of waking and routine, whether it’s street-sweepers or birds.

I like that hour (or two) of aloneness. It’s peaceful, the morning is mine, all mine, just for this time; it’s seems to offer a promise of ‘something’, hopefully amazing. An ellipsis of expectation. Admittedly, the days don’t always turn out to be the best ever, but it’s the feeling of hope that I cherish for just that hour.

Hyde Park reflections (1)

I did my usual stroll yesterday morning, through the city, to Chinatown, then Surry Hills, Darlinghurst, then back to the city via Hyde Park. Going through the park was a foolish decision because the hay fever, with which I’d been struggling for the last couple of hours or so, really ramped up, and I sneezed my way through the park seemingly non-stop. I’m amazed I managed to take these photos – I think I held my breath throughout – and when it was all done, inhaled and sneezed at the same time, sneezed some more, and ran to find the closest pharmacy for some anti-histamines. (None were open because it was still only about 8am but thankfully they sell them at supermarkets these days and of course those are always open!)

Hyde Park reflections (2)

Leave a Reply

